Internet Sales?

Wood's

Hi Gang,

I'm a Newb, working on a new distillery project in CO. In reading through the other threads in this section I noticed that no one addressed the largest distribution channel out there...The Internet!

So a few Questions:

Are there TTB regs against this?

Can a Distiller in a "direct to retail" state sell direct to consumers in another state via the Internet?

Having seen a couple of "Scotch" online sales pages; Is the Internet a viable channel for international sales?

Just interested to know the thinking.

Thanks in advance.

If you sell directly on the internet, you are responsible for verifying that every purchaser is over 21; and that you are in compliance with all state and local laws for the ship-to location.

If you ship to a minor, your TTB permits are at risk. On top of that, you may find your insurance company won't permit online sales either, as they don't want to have the increased liability. Our insurance company told us this in advance as a condition of the coverage.

The alternative is to sell to a distributor that does the online sales, as they would assume the liability.

Also, I think that there are a couple threads already that address this topic.

• 8 months later...

Remains a good question. Just learned that our state does not prohibit us from retail mail order via internet to out of state buyers. So it is an issue of what the buyer's state allows. This does seem to be a bit of a hole in the jurisdiction, however. Has anyone every queried the TTB directly on this issue? By the way, I have bought via internet direct retail from a distillery in New Mexico. I don't know how many other distilleries are currently doing so.

Internet alcohol sales with delivery via our postal system is a big and legal business in Australia.

The postmistress in our little country post office can hardly move behind her counter sometimes because of all the boxes of wine.