HedgeBird's Still Build

HedgeBird

So for better or worse I have undertaken to build my own still. I thought about starting a thread a ways back but decided not to. As I am not a professional builder posting details about my plans on a forum of professional distillers and builders is, to be completely honest, somewhat intimidating. In the end my posting details and getting feedback will hopefully lead me to have a better, more functional and safer piece of equipment, even if I have to suffer some negative feedback or display my ignorance in certain areas. Hopefully some of you will find this thread interesting and it will either inspire you to build your own, or discourage you from what is honestly a daunting task.

The design I came up with is modeled on the German builds, and the plan is to end up with a still that works, and looks, just as good as as any professionally built machine. Bootleg style stills are great, and I have no criticism for ones made from 50 gallons drums, but when another distiller visits my distillery I would rather them ask "is that a Vendome or Carl" rather than "where did you source your barrels from?" Time will tell if I am going to be able to pull that off, but hopefully its presents an idea of what I am going for. Basically built a still for under $15,000 that looks like $60,000.

So the design is a 150 gallon, steam jacked still with a dephlegmator, four valve plates and big 6" sight glasses that stands 12' 6" tall overall. The base of the still is a 150 gallon commercial kitchen kettle that I purchased used back in October.