Intro: Robert Hess

Hello!

While not (yet) a practicing distiller, I am an ardent researcher into all things spirit related. My primary passion is on the more "culinary" side of things, in other words "Cocktails".

I will be coming out to the upcoming "Whiskey Conference" in Kentucky, where I will be presenting a special "The Art of the Mixed Drink" seminar during the opening reception, where I will briefly describe how cocktails present a unique "celebration" of their base spirit. We will then sample several whiskey based cocktails and I'll discuss how each of them should be properly made to really allow the whiskey to shine through.

My "stock" bio is as follows:

Robert Hess lives and works in Seattle Washington. He traces his interest in cocktail to a childhood fascination of bartenders - who effortlessly transformed the contents of the bottles around them into gleaming jewels of refreshment. Eventually he took action on these early memories, absorbing all he could about the classic art of mixology. Using his culinary training as a canvas, he views cocktails as a cuisine with the same artistic flavor potentials as that of any French chef. He has since become a ceaseless evangelist of quality cocktails, working with restaurants, bartenders, and consumers to help them better understand how to advance their craft.

He created www.DrinkBoy.com, and its associated discussion forum, to allow bartenders around the world to interact with each other and share thoughts, ideas, and experiences which would benefit everybody through an open discussion. He has since teamed up with several others across the country to found “The Museum of the American Cocktail” (www.MuseumOfTheAmericanCocktail.org), which will be opening exhibits in New Orleans, and New York, as well as holding a variety of events and seminars around the world.