Training

Tesstony

I am a beginner looking for some training on the art of Artisan Distilling. We have what we feel is a terrific idea, a solid business background, and reasonable funds but zero experience as distillers. Other than the still-kits I purchased on the internet how does one get started? I did see one @ MSU in April but have a scheduling conflict.

I am from NY and think with the laws here I might best start by re-packaging an existing product...

Cornell University does a 1 day artisan distilling workshop every fall/winter at their Ag Exp lab in Geneva. That said... get some books and play around. It's a condensed version of the MSU course with some of the same instructors. Also there was a 2 day course given last fall in NH I heard about. Basically they way you learn is read like crazy.

I am a beginner looking for some training on the art of Artisan Distilling. We have what we feel is a terrific idea, a solid business background, and reasonable funds but zero experience as distillers. Other than the still-kits I purchased on the internet how does one get started? I did see one @ MSU in April but have a scheduling conflict.

I am from NY and think with the laws here I might best start by re-packaging an existing product...

Both Christian Carl (through Brewing & Distilling Technologies) and Arnold Holstein (through Bavarian Breweries and Distilleries) offer workshops. Call them- their websites are not always up to date... If you attend the ADI distilling conference (info at www.distilling.com) in April you will see distilling demonstrated and you may be able to get some time for more in depth instruction at Huber Winery & Distillery.

You could also contact a few distilleries doing the kinds of products you're interested in and ask if you could hang around for a day or two.

Jonathan's advice is good but the standard disclaimer applies, if you're not already, you should be aware distilling without a permit is illegal.