Ways to add head to the mash tun

Edit: the title should read "ways to add heat to the mash tun". I can't figure out how to edit the title.

This question is related to my rye topic, also in the general forum. Sorry if it's too similar.

I don't know a lot about commercial mash tuns. I'm only going to have access to propane for heat, I can either use a direct flame under my mash tun or steam inject. Steam injection seems scary, I have no experience with it, and I don't want to blow myself up. The concept of a direct flame underneath is pretty straight forward. I'm intending to do a step mash, so I need to add heat to a thick mess. Obviously this will need agitated/stirred, especially if it's over a direct flame.

Can anyone point me in the right direction for my options on direct flame vs. steam injection. What professional setups exist in the ~6 barrel range?

Another option to consider is a steam jacketed mash tun. Both steam jacketed as well as steam injection will need a boiler. But with steam injection you'd need to replenish your boiler water a lot more frequently. Direct fire can scorch your mash.

Do you already have a steam boiler?

Steam injection is pretty straight forward. You put a steam pipe in the mash tun, and you turn it on. Ok, a bit more than that, but that's the basic premise.

You could look at steam injection as being safer than a jacket, as you don't have a jacket to over pressurize and burst (rare). On the other hand, you are dealing with live steam, so if you are standing in front of a steam line and open it, you are getting burned (also rare).

In my opinion, either of the steam options are safer than having an open flame in a distillery, but that's just my 2 cents.

If given a choice and an unlimited budget - jackets win. If you own a tank you are planning to use, and that tank is not jacketed, or you wish to use the jacket for cooling, steam injection might be a viable option to make good use of an existing tank.