Build your own still? Feedback Please

Novice...learning

As I have stated in a couple of other forums on this site, I'm very new to the distilling business and I'm trying to figure out many things. Has anyone built their own still for their distillery? I know many people who have built smaller stills for home use, but could I learn to build my own still for commercial use? I would like to know from not only the cost benefit, but the fact I could use it as a marketing piece and potential showcase for my distillery. Like I said, I'm new and I don't even know if this is possible or something practical. Feedback is greatly appreciated.

Lots of people build stills. They are really quite simple. Now you are going to have to decide what type you want, pot still, reflux? If it's a reflux, what type do you want, lm, cm, vm, ccvm? Then do you want bubble plates, perforated plates, packed column or a combination. I would head over to homedistiller.org and do a lot of reading.

The first thing you need to ask yourself is what manufacturing skills you have. You haven't told us.

If you work for a sheet metal fabricator and you have a DIY workshop under your house where you tinker every weekend then I would say "yes"

If your only work has been behind a desk and you haven't found the need to own as much as a soldering iron and tin snips then I would suggest "don't waste your time". Put your desk skills to work planning and getting other people to do the hands on work.