Local Zoning in NWPA

jessicajlemmon

Well the local zoning boards here are giving me fits. I'm a licensed architect and I can't seem to get the zoning boards to understand the process and how we can mix the 'light manufacturing' with a tasting room and cocktails. (Very conservative area.)

As of right now if I can convince them that the craft distilling (We're looking at a 250 gallon set up) can be described as something other than 'light industrial/manufacturing' or somehow justify that it's an incidental use to the B-1/Mercantile use group, I might be able to get somewhere. (Almost had them convinced it was food prep which would fall under the Restaurant usage the property we're looking at was cleared for...)

I saw in passing that someone said by keeping under the quantities that trigger the requirement for fire protection, it also gives you leeway to argue that it's an incidental use to the Mercantile use group.

Does anyone have any more information on that? Or success with that? The current property we're looking at is in a fairly rurual area and the township supervisors have been there for about 40 years... not the more progressive bunch.

I don't want to commit to a property until I can find a damn place that will allow it, natrually. This has already wasted about 6 months of my time, being approved twice, then immediately over turned.

I forget all the exact classifications, but I believe my building was given a manufacturing designation (F1 perhaps) and the tasting room/retail space was allowed as an Accessory usage and required no physical separation. Not sure if that is helpful info at all as it sure seems like you know way more about this stuff than I do!

I believe the "incidental" use is only when the "higher classification" area is 10% or less of the entire space. You need to talk to them about separating the areas, for example get your F1 for the production area, then mercantile for the rest.

Prost