Jump to content
John Springer

Maryland DSP question and comments

Recommended Posts

Perhaps one of the 10 Maryland distilleries or the Maryland Distillers Guild can answer or comment. After easily and quickly obtaining a TTB permit for a new distillery in Frederick County, I learned that Maryland a) doesn't have a craft distiller's license class b) requires distilleries who pay a $2,000 annual fee to also obtain a $2,000 wholesale liquor license in order to sell their products to wholesalers and retailers. Marylanders, do I have that right? Is anyone lobbying Annapolis about these high fees and separate licenses? Most states I deal with permit distillers to manufacture and sell to wholesalers and retails without having a second license.

Best,

John Springer
john@ttbhelp.us | (631) 331-3334
http://www.ttbhelp.us

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Seems like you could contact the Maryland Distillers Guild who will surely know.  https://marylandspirits.org/

Edgardo at Twin Valley in Montgomery County had an article written about them that references a state law that allows self distribution for much less.  I don't have the direct reference to law, but here's the article: https://bethesdamagazine.com/bethesda-beat/dine/new-distillery-law-expected-to-expand-craft-spirits-market-in-montgomery-county/  

He basically credits his own lobbying to get the various laws changed in addition to different zoning for artisan distillers that lets them set up in lighter industrial areas.  I think he's right.  He's a go-getter.  I think he has a login here at ADI forums, so you might ping him too.  It doesn't look like he's been here for a while, but his name is @Chefedgardo 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×
×
  • Create New...