From the UK

Hi,

I'm from the UK. There's very little by way of micro distilleries over here. It is not a very British thing to aspire to.

Happily, I'm not very British, and I aspire to it! Are there any Britons on these forums? I do realize that this is an Ameri-centric forum, and quite right.

About me; I am currently dancing around the idea of distillation as a career. It is daunting because there is so much to learn, and so few ways to learn it outside of time and experience. In the UK it is even more difficult because we are definitely a "can't do" society, which is a shame.

I am vaguely considering the courses at the International Centre for Brewing and Distilling (ICBD) in Scotland. Has anyone heard anything about them?

Ideally I would like to learn on the job. I am currently a craftsman by trade (metalworker) and believe that experience based learning cannot be overestimated. Unfortunately jobs in the smaller distilleries that I would be interested in are rare as hen's teeth.

-Dan

Hi,

I'm from the UK. There's very little by way of micro distilleries over here. It is not a very British thing to aspire to.

Happily, I'm not very British, and I aspire to it! Are there any Britons on these forums? I do realize that this is an Ameri-centric forum, and quite right.

About me; I am currently dancing around the idea of distillation as a career. It is daunting because there is so much to learn, and so few ways to learn it outside of time and experience. In the UK it is even more difficult because we are definitely a "can't do" society, which is a shame.

I am vaguely considering the courses at the International Centre for Brewing and Distilling (ICBD) in Scotland. Has anyone heard anything about them?

Ideally I would like to learn on the job. I am currently a craftsman by trade (metalworker) and believe that experience based learning cannot be overestimated. Unfortunately jobs in the smaller distilleries that I would be interested in are rare as hen's teeth.