The Thorn in Your Sides.

In responding to someone off-line, it occurred to me that I've never properly introduced myself. Here goes.

My name is Chuck Cowdery, although I usually use Charles K. Cowdery as my byline. I'm a writer with a background in marketing, mostly sales promotion. A lot of my marketing experience is in the beverage alcohol industry, especially distilled spirits. My passion and the subject of most of my journalistic writing is American whiskey. I started out primarily interested in the history and heritage of it, but have become interested in all aspects, including the production and business sides.

I have also been a producer/director of films and videos, though that's mostly in the past. I don't trust myself with much equipment beyond a keyboard.

I'm 57, so I've been around the block a few times.

I have raised some questions here in which some people have become engaged but which others resent them even being asked. Obviously, I don't consider talking about these subjects a bad thing. I find it really interesting and I learn a lot. That's mainly why I do it.

Frequently, the issues I bring up have to do with terminology. What is a distiller? What is a Master Distiller? What is a distillery? What is distilling? If you think those are just words in the dictionary and you can just look them up, you would be wrong. There are a lot of different ideas, even within the small community of this board, about what those terms mean.

For example, I come from a world where the people who call themselves distillers start with whole grains and end with a barrel-aged finished product. In that world, people who buy bulk spirit and flavor or otherwise alter it, even if a still is involved, are called rectifiers, not distillers.

The extent to which people are playing with terms because they want the reflected glory those terms imply, without actually being those things, determining that is the ongoing struggle.