Distilling Brownie scraps for Vodka?

Mulderbri

I have been approached by a local commercial bakery recently. They have an very large amount of brownie crumbs (fine) and brownie scraps (chunks). What are your thoughts on being able to ferment and then distill this. Our distillery is not up and running yet but will be within the next year. We wanted to do some fermentation trails to see what will happen but will not be able to distill it yet. Crazy idea? or might this work for vodka or some other type of spirit?? I do not have an ingredient list yet but am assuming a typical brownie recipe of flour, chocolate, eggs, oil, baking powder or soda and of course lots of sugar, etc. I'm a newbie to distilling so please take it easy on me and thank you all for any input good, bad, or indifferent.

Recipe approvals aside, it sounds like an interesting experiment.

My first question isn't around whether or not you can ferment it, you'll be able to ferment it, the question is whether or not it will be worth your time once you've factored in the total cost. You'll need to understand the yield very well, and I'm not sold on whether or not it's economical, even if it's free.

Second issue is fat content, you are talking about a serious amount of fat. Generally this isn't an issue in the distillery, this may be an expensive issue when dealing with wastewater. Realistically, will you need grease traps to deal with the waste?

Third, what kind of volumes are you talking about there, 100 pounds a week? 1,000? Again, this is going to factor into whether or not we're talking about viable business or fun experiment.