Heads & Tails, Malts and grains, Beer and wine?

Fourlix

Newbie here, trying to understand this topic. Beer & wine are fermented, and the entire liquid is ultimately consumed, excepting maybe some barrel loss from wine. Are malted barley and grapes not producing in fermentation the "low boilers" and nasties that distillers are losing sleep over? Are sugar, molasses and whole grains responsible for these undesirables? Is liquor distilled from malted barley, like beer, without the methanol, acetone and headaches? Is the high temperature of distillation creating these unwanted compounds? And finally, do big commercial distilleries really just throw away these cuts? I can't imagine corporations throwing anything away. I have had booze in the Caribbean, "Rum Agricole" to be precise, that smells like paint solvent, with an instant hangover headache and liver ache. In Mexico I had some Kahlua that one drink made me sick for two days. So I know it's out there, I just don't understand.

1. Not certain how to answer the first question...

2. The base material itself is not responsible, except for fruit with high levels of pectin, where it decomposes gradually and forms methanol, which causes nerve damage and blindness. Most of the time the microbes producing the alcohol also produce the things distillers do not want.

3. No, all distilled substances will contain some of these which is why they must be separated.

4.The temperature isn't responsible.

5. Big companies won't throw it away. They redistill it to extract more ethanol. When no more can be extracted, they either sell these byproducts to third parties that will use them to produce pure substances by further distillation, or simply use them as a source of cleaning / fuel material. It depends on how their time and space is allocated since it will not always be efficient to store and sell them.

6. Many companies keep large portions of these unpleasant compounds in because they are cheap.