Kindness or something else

MVD

So I am in the very beginning stages of opening a small distillery. I am new to the industry but not to business. The years I spent in Combat arms with military may have made me a little (or a lot) suspicious of random kindness so I need to get a general feel of this industry. I have had more than a couple craft distilleries around my area offer to help me get started with advice, suggestions, lessons learned, I even had one guy who offer to take me into his building and walk me through his entire distillation process, Start-finish. I couldn't believe it. Is this industry really that mindful and open with each other or am I being let on?

-Note- I am in favor of Suzzane Massie's famous quote for Regan, "Trust but Verify"

Thanks All

Matt

Matt,

If someone is is giving freely and asks nothing in return and there is no way that they can take anything from you, then I say trust. If they want something in in return or if you will be giving them an opportunity to take something, then I would say trust but make sure that you cover your ass. I've learned to always fallow my gut. We all know the drill when something seems hinky. I served as well.

I will say that most everyone that I have met in the craft distilling industry are good, hard working people and since the industry is so small the word gets around about bad apples pretty fast.

Hi Matt,

Good luck with starting out. My general advice is that there are good people out there that are willing to help out and go the extra mile and that covers about 99% of the people working or owning distilleries. The other 1% is there to make a profit and utilize you to their advantage.

So your quote stands. Follow your gut, be open to new opportunities and for the small percentage that are simply not good people to be around, move pass them.

Cheers,

-ilias