Proof too high or tails smeared in, can't find the middle ground!

Grazin' Spirits

Hello, My Name is Keith.  I'm a newbie to commercial distilling.    I have distilled on small pot stills quite a bit, and I do understand cuts by flavor and aroma.  That is where my knowledge ends though.

My new still is a 400L Bain Marie oil jacket, 10" column with six plates (non-removable), a dephleg (cooled by well water via hose bib), a well oversized condenser, the still is powered by 3 heating elements. 

My Issue is one of proof.  No matter what I do I can't get my distillate to come out under 80% and taste good.     If I run it in pot mode (No plates engaged and no dephleg), the proof is low enough but I can taste tails in the entire run, even when I only run it on 1 element, which is as slow as I can go.    If I run it with all plates open but the dephleg on the lowest trickle possible, I hit 86% ABV avg through the hearts.    If I load any number of plates the same issue only gets worse.  All six plates loaded brings me through the hearts around   88%.   Even with all three elements on trying to push through faster the ABV is too high.  

This issue is happening running my mash, which is only at 7% ,  and some feints added from the prior run but we are talking about starting ABV of less than 10%.  I have had the same issue on a 7% run.

I love the flavor I am getting running the dephleg, but I want to make Bourbon so the proof has to come down.   

Any suggestions?

My Remaining ideas:   

1.  Warm the Dephleg water with a valve off the product condenser , maybe the well water is just too cold and Rejecting too much even though it is leaving hot?   My input is into the bottom with well water, out the top.   Flow controlled on the input side.

2.  Take some of the oil out of the jacket, hopefully lowering the temp of what one element is, but of course that will probably cost me heat up time (which is already 2 hours).