Heads and tails when using NGS

Hi Folks

im new to distilling, I’m currently running some test batches using vodka before I move into acquiring NGS as a base.

my question is how do you identify accurately the heads and tails when using pure spirits to start with, there is a lot of advice online about how to do this when distilling from a mash but none that I’ve seen in relation to NGS

appreciate any advice you can give

thanks

Ok, not to beat a dead horse here but, when using NGS to make vodka, there are really two ways to do it.

1) Just reduce it close to bottle proof, filter it any of several way, add your flavor, sugar, citric (if applicable) then reduce to final proof and bottle.

2) Add some water to NGS so you don't blow up your building, put it in any type of still from a Kurig , to a 1000 plate nuclear powered column that is slightly shorter than the troposphere , warm up the mix and it will come out exactally as it was when you put it in. No heads, tails, hearts, or magic beans will come from your efforts, so it will be impossible to identify these non existent segments. However you can say you distilled it.

Maybe the best way would be to do "simulated cuts" . Just pull the first 2% of the warmed up NGS off into one container, then segregate the next 70% into your hearts container, then run the remainder into a tails container.  Just use the hearts for your Vodka.

The next day, dump the heads and tails into the next batch and repeat the process. Should work out pretty well.

Either way you  are still required to state on the bottle (Contains 100% NGS)

Prost