CONDENSER RECIRCULATION W/COOLING CHILLER

B-RAD 22

Hello,

Has anyone have experience with a closed loop recirculation for the water needed for the condenser and deplemigator?

Where I am going to be operating there are strict rules on waste water and I will get charged for all that goes down the drain. Since I am new to this I am not sure what is in industry standard on the equipment (more specifically the chiller) that I can use for this.

Please note that I am a small craft distillery with a 500L (130 gallon) pot still, will be producing vodka and gin. Looking for a cost affordable solution.

if you require any additional information please let me know.

Thanks,

Brad

A 2 HP chiller should do it, $7,000 or less. 230/1/60.

I have a used 3 HP for less but it's 460/3/60.

If you need to chill mash, then you should add a chilled water reservoir so you don't overheat.  Most guys use a tote, piping it between process and chiller return.

Mike

Hi Brad,

You should never use a closed loop chiller for condensers.  It's a big waste of energy.  You should look at your condensers as hot water heaters that can supply you with free hot water If your tap water is less than 60 F then you should consider simply running the hot water from your condenser into 2 hot water holding tanks.  1 holding tank for your next mashing in and the other for cleaning including CIP.  Generally you will use all of the hot water that way. 

If your tap water is too warm, I suggest chilled water tank cooled by a chiller and you still use the hot water holding tank.  

For the first method above no chiller is needed.  if you are going to use the 2nd method then email me paul@distillery-equipment.com and we will quote you for a chiller.

That is actually pretty smart, never thought of it that way. 

Do you know how much water I would approximately use? I don't have a size of my condenser now (still being designed) but its for a 130 gallon (500L) still so my fermenters will also be 500L.