Importation of contract distilled spirits for blending and bottling - DSP License & FE Tax

spykerf1

Hello everyone, I'm just getting started with this, so please bear with me.  Any assistance you can give is greatly appreciated.  My plan is to import contract distilled spirits from overseas into the US to an existing DSP who will allow me to blend the spirits on their premises.  I would then contract with the existing DSP to bottle and label the spirits and assist with COLA submission  4 questions:

1) Do I need a DSP license to do that?;

2) If so, do I use the contract bottler's premises for the application and note that I am warehousing, blending and bottling?;

3) even if I am not required to get the DSP, should I do it anyway so that I have the DSP if I open my own facility down the road?;

4) Under the new rules, if I do get a DSP and I am importing the bulk spirits for blending (as well as bottling), can I qualify for the reduced FE rate (because I am doing more than bottling) if I apply for the importer assignment under Section 5001(c)(3)(B)?

Thanks again for your help.  Any other things I need to be aware of?

My plan is to import contract distilled spirits from overseas into the US to an existing DSP.

The importer must have a TTB importer's permit.  It cannot take possession of the spirits.  It must arrange to have the spirits shipped to a distilled spirits plant. Do not pay taxes on the bulk spirits at the time of importation.  The spirits are shipped from customs' custody to the DSP in bond.  (See part 28).