Jump to content

Gluten intolerance in wheat based vodka


Workpress

Recommended Posts

Does anyone out there know if someone with a gluten intolerance can drink wheat based vodka?  The question is goes gluten make it through the distillation process and into the final spirit? 

We have had  inquiries at our outdoor patio and I am looking for an informed answer.

 

thank you

 

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Workpress,

I have the same question on tours, and I tell them that proteins remain in the still, alcohol/water leaves.  Even after I cite sources I am rarely believed because "all grains have gluten".  I then will tell them that Corn does not have gluten, to which I am told that I need to do my research.  I smile and nod and say I will look it up after the tour.  Rant over, below are a few links:

https://www.beyondceliac.org/gluten-free-diet/is-it-gluten-free/liquor/    https://celiac.org/ttb-ruling-permits-gluten-free-label-on-spirits-distilled-from-grains/

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The FDA has said that once the alcohol has been distilled from grain, it is then considered gluten free. As we do have a wheat/barley based vodka, this question comes up frequently. We try to be patient because we value our customers but sometimes I wonder if people understand food at all.

  • Thumbs up 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...

I recently had all of our spirits tested for gluten because we constantly get that question and wanted to put "Gluten free" on one of our labels and none of them came back with any traceable amount, including our whiskeys. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Although gluten doesn't make it through to the final distillate, the possibility for gluten contamination still exists. The two main culprits would be grain dust from mashing wheat possibly ending up in a spirit container, or if your barrel supplier happens to use any wheat paste to seal barrel heads/leaks. The latter obviously isn't a problem for vodka, but for any spirit you are barrel aging. That's why I was surprised with the TTB (or was it the FDA?) saying you can declare spirits gluten free. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...