Cooling Water Temperatures

Quinn_the_Eskimo609

Hello all,

I am a new distiller (Chemical Engineer straight out of college) and am looking to figure out some of the details in our process. A big question that has come up is the temperature of our cooling water. How cold is too cold? This is a utility question as well as the strain on stainless pipes. If alcohol vapor is hitting the condenser at ~170-200F, and cooling water is 50F will I risk cracking a tube?

Thank you!

I'm not an engineer but I can tell you that you would not risk cracking a tube with that temperature differential, as long as everything is well made.  It would not bother me a bit to have greater temperature differential.  I have mash cookers out there that have been in operation for almost 10 years that utilize a single jacket for both steam heat and cooling.  The steam temps are around 243 F and the coolant temps are as low as 36 F.  It never worried me a bit to design them that way because I had already designed, and had my employees build, steam injection boilers with temperature differentials of over 1400 degrees, between the fire box and the inner boiler with no issues.   My current mash tun design has an internal crash cooling coil.  I only changed the design because the internal coil has a great deal more thermal exchange surface area than the inner part of the jacket did.    

• Thumbs up 1

Some folks have had operating problems running reflux condensers with a very cold input coolant directly.  This can sometimes cause some odd behaviors like cycling output  and column flooding (subcooled reflux).

Some stills temper (warm) the reflux condenser coolant by running it through the product condenser first (sequential condensers) to avoid this.