Fire Suppression Costs

MaggiesFarm

Could someone give me a ballpark figure for the installation of a sprinkler system? Does it usually go by square footage? Any other pertinent details, like how from an external water line?

I know it's pretty hit or miss on the need for a fire suppression system, depending on location. In the "big city," I'm 90% certain I'll be required to have one, but just outside in another borough, I probably won't. These are based on examples of the two existing distilleries in the area. I've narrowed my search down to a property in each place. I never got a hard number, but I was basically told that if a property doesn't have sprinklers installed and they're needed, don't bother. Keep looking. I'd like to know how viable this advice is. I still think it might be worthwhile given the other advantages of this property.

Thanks.

The quotes above are inline with what I was finding when researching the subject. I'm far from an expert on the matter and I don't know that the circustances that apply to my facility would translate to yours, but just the same... you might be able to skirt the fire supression stuff if you are able to run your production within smaller maximum allowable quantities (MAQ) of spirit.

The fire inspector I was contending with was pushing for fire supression inititially — which would allow me to maintain 60 gallons of spirit in open containers or 240 gallons of spirit in atmospherically closed containers at any one time (pretty much the quantities that everyone is held to, from what I understand). I skipped the whole sprinker thing to avoid the costs duing start up and as a result my MAQ is half that - i can store no more than 30 gallons open and 120 closed. Fortuantly, my fire inspector agreed that spirt stored in oak casks or glass bottles is not included in that MAQ, so I'm able to work with those quantities for now.