Mad Scientist Spirits-Raleigh, NC

Hello

My name is Don McIntyre. I'm an Organic Chemist who is now turning to Craft Distiller. I've distill many a compound in my career but never ethanol from a mash. I'm not worried about the distillation aspects just everything else. I've just finished the business plan and now seeking some funding. Our initial focus will be on Vodka and Gin. We plan on moving into other product areas as time permits.

It's great to be in the forum.

Don McIntyre

Mad Scientist Spirits

PO Box 90634

Raleigh, NC 27675

919 602-0677

Welcome,

O-Chem was stupid hard.....good on you for making a career out of it. As you say, with your background, Distillation isn't the big deal....but also with your background you're going to find that you have a great leg up on some aspects of the industry, especially extraction and maturation chemistry in barrels.

Good luck with your funding. If you are going a traditional route, get with your local Small Business Development Corp and talk to them about the SBA 504 and 7A programs. With either loan guarantee under your belt from SBA, it will make getting your financing through a bank that much easier. Beware the investor, partner, or angel.....all come with drawbacks. If you can get this done on your own, do so...you'll be happier in the end.

Good luck

We evaluated a lot of options and the SBA/Commercial Lender option just offered the best deal. 10 yr fixed rates, loan guarantee helped take the risk off the bank. It was a thoughtful process, lots of inspection and introspection of the business and marketing plans, which helped a lot.