There's no such thing as American Whiskey

cbenoit

This is my first post, but I assure you that despite the inflammatory title, I'm not here to troll. I'm here to explain why some of you are running into trouble with exporting your whiskey.

Let me quickly introduce myself: I'm a lawyer here in Washington, D.C., and I specialize in international trade. A main aspect of this practice is making sure that governments live up to the commitments they made to play fair (usually when they joined the World Trade Organization, "WTO"). Sometimes, it's the United States that needs to be sued, as is the case with cover over rum subsidies. Laws and taxes regarding distilled spirits the world over have generated some of the best and most important WTO jurisprudence.

I very much enjoyed my time in Louisville back in April. I met a lot of wonderful people, and think this is a fantastic community, and I hope to see you all in Denver next year. Now, on to the reason for this post (prompted by my discussions with some of you and this post):

The Problem (We can't call our stuff whiskey in Europe)

The European Community requires that a grain spirit be aged at least 3 years before it is labeled as "whisk(e)y" (as does Canada). But many U.S. craft distillers often bottle grain spirit aged less than 3 years and label it as "whisk(e)y", as they are permitted to do under TTB Regs. When they try to export their whiskey, Europe requires them to drop the word "whiskey" from the label.

The Issue (This is unfair because the Scots are exempt here in America)

This is seen as unfair, because, for example, Scottish distillers can export their "Single Malt" into the U.S. without having to worry about TTB's definition of "Malt Whisky".

The Reason for the Dichotomy (Scotch Whisky is a Thing, American Whisky Isn't)

You'll notice on Scotch labels for the U.S. market the following ordering of words: "[Producer Name] Single Malt Scotch Whisky".