Hello from Sartoga Springs, NY...

Hi Everyone,

Larry DeVivo here, I just joined this wonderful forum after lurking for a few months. Seems like a great resource.

I am meeting with the local reps from SCORE today to start our (my wife and I) business plan to open a small craft distillery in downtown Saratoga Springs, NY... Piping Rock Distillery. I am very much looking forward to this meeting. I already have a ton of questions for the forum and I'm sure I'll have more after this meeting.

I'm a total newbie at this (distilling, not being a small business owner) after spending the last 37 years working in the audio industry but I have a passion for this "craft industry" that is on par with my passion for audio. Unfortunately the audio industry is pretty dead and I don't see being able to stay a part of that profession for too much longer (at least not as a means to make a living... plus I have the "burn out" factor going on after 37 years). I consider distilling an art form. Gin is what floats my boat personally and I look forward to experimenting with new "recipes".

I very much look forward to getting to know and working with other professionals in the industry.

best regards,

Larry

Congrats Larry on your new direction!

Regarding SCORE, don't be discouraged if they don't provide specific answers to your questions. From my experience working with 2 of their volunteers back when we were polishing up our business plan, they took more a "guidance" approach than an "advisory" approach. But you might have some super stars there, and the experience could be much different.

Btw, my wife and I both graduated from RPI and we're big fans of Saratoga :)

Best of Luck,

-Scott

Hi neighbor.