Liquid Sucrose?

Jim J

We are getting closer to opening our new facility in St. Charles Missouri, and was wondering if anyone has tried using liquid sucrose instead of granulated sugar. We ran some tests with HIgh Fruitcose Corn Syrup but it does not ferment worth a darn. I would like the ease of liquid sugar, but I am concerned about how well it will ferment, and also the shelf life. Any help woul be appreciated.

We are getting closer to opening our new facility in St. Charles Missouri, and was wondering if anyone has tried using liquid sucrose instead of granulated sugar. We ran some tests with HIgh Fruitcose Corn Syrup but it does not ferment worth a darn. I would like the ease of liquid sugar, but I am concerned about how well it will ferment, and also the shelf life. Any help woul be appreciated.

I've got no experience fermenting the stuff by itself, but if you're concerned about shelf life, it is my understanding that invert sugar's is much longer than plain old sucrose's. I think that it may ferment easier as well.

Good luck,

Nick

• 2 weeks later...

Any pure sugar (even sucrose) tends to crystallize pretty fast, which is one reason why HFCS syrup is used industrially. The glucose+fructose combination is much more stable.

I (long ago) conducted test ferments of various select sugars using brewing yeast and my result was that yeast fermenting pure fructose (with nutrients added) resulted in a very slow fermentation and very poor attenuation. Don't take that as anything more than one amateur's experience. Yeast produce an extra-cellular invertase enzyme that cleaves the non-reducing sucrose into a glucose+fructose ((easy to test and I've done this)). The sugar mix *should* be similar to HFCS, but it's entirely possible that some yeast metabolism is triggered by the sucrose that allows it to metabolize fructose better. That's strictly a personal hunch.

Others seem to have success fermenting HFCS. So ....