consistent quality questions...

judgment

I'd like to describe an experience I had recently and see if anyone had any thoughts...

Without naming any names, I recently visited a very nice craft distillery and had a lovely experience. The people were friendly, very encouraging to someone considering getting into this industry, and didn't make me feel rushed at all. This is something of an accomplishment with me because I am hyper-aware of anything I might do "hold up production" or "get in the way of a working man" or whichever cliche you prefer.

At the end of my visit, my host took me into the tasting room and let me taste a couple things. One item in particular completely blew me away. I was very impressed with what I perceived as the very high quality of the item. Based on the strength of that tasting I immediately went to the nearest ABC store and bought a bottle for myself.

However, when I got home and opened my bottle, I was somewhat disappointed. I'm no professional taster, but I got the distinct impression that the bottle I purchased did not live up to the quality of what I was given to sample on site. I did not feel that it fell within an acceptable range of normal variation from one batch to another. Honestly I felt like I had paid top dollar for what turned out to be an inferior product.

Is this common? Am I nuts? I have considered that perhaps I was in awe of the production facility and this may have put me in a particularly appreciative mood...

At any rate, I thought it was worth mentioning....