Digital / Analog ABV Meter

WilmingtonWhiskey

Does anyone know of a commercial grade digital / Analog ABV meter? More specifically, I am looking for something that can measure/read alcohol content instantaneously and be able to transmit that data in either a digital or analog string for monitoring and event triggering.

Anyone know where to start looking? Search query ideas?

Thanks!!

-Ryan

Wilmington Whiskey & Spirits Co.

ryan@wilmingtonwhiskey.com

Hi Ryan,

You need a digital density meter, or desitometer.

Contact Jay Skovbjerg at Anton-Paar ( jay.skovbjerg@anton-paar.com ), and ask him about the Anton Paar DMA 35. I own one and I like its speed, accuracy and reliability.

Have a look at these:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBXE3aULABs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fqe3QVZ-odE

Tell Jay that Rusty sent you, and he might be able to give you the trade show discount, especially if you'll be attending the ADI conference!

Thanks for the input guys. By trade, I am a commercial audio/visual integrator and I have automated pretty much EVERYTHING that you can think of, so, of course, I want to automate how I make my cuts. My idea is to trigger solenoid valves at specific readings to divert heads, hearts and tails to different storage vessels. Anything after that I have no problem doing the tried and true method.

Thanks again!

PS. I promise to come and introduce myself very soon! Also, just an FYI, Front Street Brewery is having a Home Brew judging party this Saturday @ 7PM which might be fun. AND, I plan on picking up my Pappy Party ticket this week as well :)

http://www.frontstreetbrewery.com/public_events/

WW,

If you want to trigger valves to make cuts, I'd recommend that you take advantage of the direct (edit: inverse) correlation between vapor temperature and ABV.

Thermometers are waaaaaaaaay less expensive than densitometers.