Judging Spirits

The Great Lakes Cider and Perry Association just held their ('our' - I'm an officer) annual competition. In its wake, we are looking for ways to improve next years contest.

We have a category for apple and pear eaux de vie and brandies, but we are finding that our style and judging scoresheets for these products could use some improvement. Would anyone involved in brandy judging/evaluatation care to contribute suggestions, tips, templates or other help?

Hey Charles,

We hold a sensory seminar twice a year with about 80 samples, at least half of them fruit based spirits. It's essentially a shortened version of the training for spirits judges in Austria and Germany. My colleague Dr. Klaus Hagmann and I will conduct the next one in May. Please send me a quick e-mail if you are interested so I can put you on the list. We can also talk about scoring options and such with you. Also, being based in Chicago I'd be happy to help you judge.

All the best,

Robert

--------------------------------------------------------

Kothe Distilling Technologies Inc.

5121 N. Ravenswood Ave

Chicago, IL 60640

http://www.kothe-distilling.com

info@kothe-distilling.com

(773) 295 4454

Hey Charles,

We hold a sensory seminar twice a year with about 80 samples, at least half of them fruit based spirits. My colleague Dr. Klaus Hagmann and I will conduct the next one in May.

Robert

Robert-

The seminar sounds great. I remember meeting Dr. Hagmann at your seminar in May 2009. You have a great resource to share with Charles.

Charles-

Send me your email address and I can send you the tasting sheet that I have used. While it is not perfect, it is designed for apple brandy so it could be a helpful starting point for you.

By the way, I enjoyed meeting your dad at the Great Lakes Cider competition earlier this year at Uncle John's Cider Mill. My favorite was your naturally-conditioned hard cider.

Tom

Tom

Dear Charles,