Peach Brandy

Geoman

Howdi every one,

I'm a beginner, building my experience by experimenting one recipe at a time.  last I did is a peach brandy, and it turned bad.  Here is what I did:

1. Got 30 pounds of very ripe peach and or nectarines;  
  2. wash them in a tub using tap water;
  3. Pet them and remove obvious bad spots and mold;
  4. put them through a food processor to crush and liquefy them;  
  5. Did NOT separate cores from juice, put them in a food grade plastic container;  
  6.  they were liquidy, but not juice, they were rather like a mushed fruits;  
  7. Added about 3 gallons of water with about 7 pounds of white table sugar dissolved in it;  
  8. added one cup of hydrated EC8111 yeast;
  9. put in temp controlled environment, set at 67 F;
  10. did not oxygenate, thinking that food processor must have done the job; and 
  11. fermentation actually took of the next day in a steady speed.

after 10 days, I opened the bucket to check on my peach wine,  and I see bad news.  

there is a thick white and pink crust from all the nectarines, which may sound normal.  but I scooped some of it.  It smells moldy, and taste vinegary and bitter.  see a picture.

so, what wrong did I do?

is it the water added with sugar? if so, why adding juice is OK?

is it not mixing the surface of the fermentation each day?

see a picture of what I scooped.

IMG_4903.JPG

Geoman,

1) It is going to take much more than 30 pounds of fruit to make brandy. Of course, smaller scale makes distillation more difficult, because the space between heads and tails is so compact. Even the smallest test batches of fruit I do start with 500# - regardless of your still size.