Retail Sales

JohninWV

I want to get the laws changed here in WV to allow for on site "liquor by the drink".

We feel fortunate that WV allows for on-site retail sales by the bottle and tastings (1.5 ounces per person per day). Currently, distillery owners are not allowed to own any interest in a private liquor establishment (bar).

We built a very nice place and we are getting lots of requests to hold private functions. We did a function last night, and served drinks, but we limited it to .75 ounces, two drink limit per person....it was a friend and so we didn't charge...and couldn't if we would have wanted to since samples have to be complimentary. I think there's a huge potential for making money that we are missing.

I'm curious as to which states allow this and the statutes if you have them.

I've never worked with my legislators before so I'm a bit unsure where to start. I'm wondering if it might be best to try to change the law to allow for dual licenses or if there's another way to work this.

Any help is appreciated.

As I understand the laws as they stand, it is the federal TTB laws that prohibit anyone from owning more than one step in the distiller-distributor-retail chain. I was told that if you own, or your spouse owns, a distilled beverage distributor or retail outlet (including bar, tavern etc) license, you would not be allowed to have a distillery license. As most of the laws are, this is left over from the end of prohibition where the federal government did not want to see organized crime control the liquor business from one end to the other.