Intro: Jonathan Forester

Hi Folks- I'm Jonathan Forester of the future Penobscot Bay Distillery & Brewery in Winterport, Maine. Just back in late November 2007 I got in touch with Bill Owens to ask him a few questions and to write some articles for him. Basically I am a food and beverage writer and consultant (www.SlashFood.com and other places online and print) who got the distilling bug when visiting a local small farm winery and distillery.

Well one thing led to another and within days I was partnered with Winterport Winery to open a distillery and brewery. Soon my savings was flying from my accounts, stills were ordered, I was attending artisan distilling workshops, visiting distilleries, and getting the license application sent off. We just finished the electrical wiring of the facility last week and hope to have the plumbing, gas, and drainage finished eventually. Then I guess I'll just twiddle my thumbs until the still arrives. I expect to be up and running within an eon or so. I wanted to stay low budget and buy American so I am getting a hand made copper pot still and having a stainless and copper pot stripping still made to my design.

I plan on making a plethora of products starting with rum, whiskeys, aged fruit brandies, gin, and fortified wines. I am going old school and will be using a direct fired pot spirit still, and a steam stripping still. I am shooting for limited amounts of premium product. Basically it will be a 2-3 man operation to start and then we'll see where it goes from there.

We also just started making hard cider and have several small, 250 gallon batches of English style dry cider that are currently aging on wood. For my personal use I have put some intoo used whiskey and rum kegs as a special reserve hard cider for the holidays.