RTD sensors and ethanol

Sorghumrunner

We are putting together the temperature displays for our still, and I've got three points I want to measure with digital readout, the rest will just be standard thermometers. I'm looking at RTD sensors to go in the 1.5" sanitary fittings on the still vapour space, doubler vapor space, and at the spirits outlet before the parrot. I want to run these wires just outside the room to a control box with temperature displays.

What do I need to do regarding the wiring/conduit at the still to keep it safe? I'm assuming this is a Class 1 Group D classified area. Do I have to have exp. proof boxes here? Trying to keep cost down, but keep it safe.

Chris

Chris,

I'm sure that all of this is spelled out very clearly in the National Electric Code, and that your electrician will be able to answer more authoritatively that I will, and please DO NOT TAKE MY MUSINGS AS PROFESSIONAL ADVICE because I'm not a licensed electrician, but that being said...

I think that the application that you speak of could be Intrinsically Safe by nature, or quite easily rendered Intrinsically Safe so as to negate the need for exp. proof conduit and enclosures. I rarely link to Wikipedia, but their entry on Intrinsically Safe states:

"The primary concept behind intrinsic safety is the restriction of available electrical and thermal energy in the system so that ignition of a hazardous atmosphere (explosive gas or dust) cannot occur. This is achieved by ensuring that only low voltages and currents enter the hazardous area, and that no significant energy storage is possible."

I'd think that an RTD is a pretty low voltage and current... Something to consider anyway...

Nick

P.S. speaking of RTDs, IMHO 3-wire RTDs are the only way to go. Take all of those 2-wire RTDs to the scrap yard with all of your spare catalytic converters; they're trash. The 3-wire compensates for ambient temperature fluctuations, the 2-wire doesn't. Pretty big difference if you ask me.