Hello everyone!

I'm a hobbyist and homebrewer, currently investigating the possibility of getting licensed and opening a micro-distillery.

I have degrees in Chemistry and Biochemistry, and manufacturing experience in the pharmaceutical industry. So I feel confident with the technical aspects of distillation and regulatory compliance issues, but realize there is still much more I need to learn about the industry before I can decide if this is something I want to get seriously involved with.

If you've got any general chemistry questions, don't be shy. I'd be happy to trade some scientific advice for a little industry knowledge.

-Max

Welcome Max,

I will give you some advice if you would like it. Read, read, read, then take a class. Go see some distilleries. Get a feel for it.

Bill Owens at www.distilling.com has a class this December. It is not cheap, and is a week long. I took the class a year ago, used vacation from my day job and I am now opening up my own micro-distillery.

You will have access to people doing it now, and many who are looking into distilling. The resources and friends you will gain from it are great.

Good luck, cheers!

www.DrinkValleySpirits.com

Lee

Hello Max Action,

Nice to have the expectational knowledge.

If there is a craft brewer in your area start hanging out there and give a hand when you can. Mash is key.

It may sound odd, but, not all home or textbook theory translates 1 to 1 at the industrial level. Equipment, geography, ect. Can't beat experience. Good luck.

Max,

What BBob says is quite right. You'll never make a great whiskey from a poor mash.

The ADI classes that Lee mentioned happen twice per year, and although they're not cheap, they're worth it...and you'll meet me!