Noob enzyme question.

adamOVD

I'm doing a whiskey with mostly wheat and a little bit of specialty malt. I did few small test batches and I just mashed in with really hot water, the mash temp ended up about 165F. I adjusted the PH and added some hitempase to try to keep things liquid. I let it cool to 150F, adjusted temp again and pitched Amylo 300, then held the temp for conversion. Grain was milled to a flour. I did not use a high glucan enzyme, mostly because I didn't have any easily available.

I have a couple questions.

1) Is it a waste to use the hitempase as I'm not cooking the grains?

2) If did use a high glucan enzyme like bioglucanase would it also be a waste and just be denatured since I'm mashing in so hot?

3) Will I convert more sugars and get a better yield using bioglucanse?

I everything stayed pretty liquid and fermented fine with the small batches, but I am about to do a full production run. Thanks so much.

In a past life I was a protein chemist at a big enzyme manufacturer - specifically high-temp engineering of carbohydrate hydrolases.

Key point about "high temperature" enzymes is that thermoactivity (optimal catalytic temperature) is not the same thing as thermostability - also note that both are impacted by small changes in pH.  And the will depend on the specific enzyme (and expression host) you are using in various products, and that gets technical quickly.  

That said, roughly:

1) Probably not. and 165 f is enough to gel the starch in most grains (not all, though).

2) Do a multistep mash, use it at a permissive temp for the glucanase.

3) Yes, but how much more is highly dependent on mash and fermentation conditions. So is it worth it is the question, really.