septic requirements

chaucer

It's difficult to offer advice or suggestions with so little information. However, it would be prudent to contact your local authorities regarding building codes if you have to build a septic system. You'll need to know how much waste material you may be generating and how you'll dispose of it. You need that for the TTB anyway. There may be regional as well as state environmental regs you have to follow.

Good luck!

what are the requirements for the septic in a small distillary. I live in a rural area and was curious if I would need a special septic to operate.

Another word of advise on septic systems. I have been a builder for 42 years. Septic systems no mater where you are is a controlled system. Micro organism's within the tank is what keeps them working properly. You need to be real careful what you dump into them. If for instance you dump an amount of alcohol in it it will kill the bacteria and quit working. The same goes with pesticides. You may have to monthly put into the system some of the bugs needed to keep it working. Coop

what are the requirements for the septic in a small distillery. I live in a rural area and was curious if I would need a special septic to operate.

I assume you are referring to general distillery trade waste, not from the sinks and bathrooms.

We operate in a rural area also and initially we had to truck all our trade waste off for external disposal, at great cost. We now treat the waste on-site. No septic, or air assisted bio-cycle system will cope with distillery trade waste for three reasons;

1. The pH is way too low
  2. THE BOD is too high (typical of boiled waste)
  3. The amount of residual alcohol is often too high in 'small' distilleries (we often dump our stillage at 2% residual alcohol, as its too expensive to strip-out the remainder)