Aging fruit mash

Firefighter777

I'm new to distilling, only 1 year into it. I recently made a large batch of wine using a mix of 1/5 of each of these fruits; strawberries, bluberries, choke cherries, goosen berries, raspberries.

The wine turned out amazing, but I hated to see the all the fruits go to waste , so I took all the fruits and mixed them into four 5 gallons buckets added 8lbs of sugar, some ditiller's yeast and fermented for 2 weeks. I then ran it thru my 3" reflux still without any packing inside the tower, so basically using it as a pot still I stripped the whole mash. The 20 gallons of mash gave me 3.5 gallons (14 liters) of a very tasty alchool at 55%.

Now you can taste the berries and smell them in the alcool, now I was thinking of aging it into a new small medium charred oak cask. Should I go ahead with this or should I be trying something different, I never aged before in cask before or done this type of distiling.

Would anyone have any suggestions for this newbie?

Any thing would be greatly appreciated.

It's not really the same but you could try chips or spiral in a 1L bottle to get and idea of how it will change. With a small barrel it might add something really nice to the next batch that goes into it as well.

I am no expert but willing to try and pass on what I have tried. Hope to get DSP by this time next year.

Good to experiment isn't it.....

Brandy is too delicate for casks, not enough control or selection of woods.

Unless you want the whiskey taste, never use 'charred' wood, only toasted.

I use stainless with oak and cherry strips. 3/4 square, saw kerfs every 1/4inch. Number of planks depends on how many gallon container.

Our minimum is 2 years on the wood. My 7 yr old has a nose on it fills the room with fresh fruit aromas.

Mine is mostly grape since that's available to me.

And put those used oak/cherry woods in next batch of rum. That's a real treat.