Nascent distiller and full-time marketer from Asheville, NC

Hello to all from gorgeous Asheville, NC, USA.

I'm at the very beginning stages of considering a plan for a microdistillery and have found this forum to be unbelievably useful. I spent many years in the "other forum" learning the basics of distillation and found ADI when I started kicking around the idea of going pro.

As the conventional wisdom in opening a microdistillery seems, inevitably, to be "don't quit your day job", I'm planning to merge the two. You see, my day job is running a media and marketing company, Sisyphus Media. For a number of years, I've been catering to any business that came along with the money and motivation to start marketing their business.

I've always considered the notion of catering to a niche, but couldn't think of one that wouldn't eventually become an anchor. And then, WHAM, it hit me like the ol' proverbial ton of bricks - the adult beverage industry! I can offer my services as a marketer while I get to know people in the community and learn more about the business, regs, licensing, etc.

Marketing Philosophy

Now, more than ever, selling a product is driven by telling stories. The most amazing product ever produced, be it liquor or wicker, will languish until the market catches wind of a compelling story.

Take, for example, Riedel Glasses. (Full disclosure, I borrow this example from Seth Godin's excellent book, All Marketers are Liars Tell Stories).

George Riedel and his people fervently believe that the enjoyment of wine is directly related to the shape and quality of the glass from which it's quaffed. Several high profile wine reviewers have become Riedel's cheerleaders and have made the Riedel Glass a must have item.

Trouble is, in double-blind taste tests there is absolutely zero discernible difference between a $1 glass and a $20 glass. None.