New in Wisconsin

Just wanted to drop in and say hello. 
I’m a Registered Nurse by trade with a passion for distilled spirits. The grains, the science, the whole gambit. 
I’m at a point in my life I’m contemplating opening a destination distillery. Forming a business plan and doing the parking lot math. I’m here mainly to learn from everyone and do further research. 
Thanks in advance!

Thanks @oboyatelny

At this time I am still researching, forming a business plan and getting some cost estimates. 
I see the value in starting more quickly with a short term, intown lease, but my vision includes a more rural space/farm setting close to town. This has it’s pros and cons. One con being enough of a draw for people to come out and another being the cost. This may mean I have to work a little long in my day job to boost our savings rate before making the leap, but I want to do this right. 
 I will keep you in mind when the time comes. 

22 hours ago, Widirtfishing said:

Thanks @oboyatelny

At this time I am still researching, forming a business plan and getting some cost estimates. 
I see the value in starting more quickly with a short term, intown lease, but my vision includes a more rural space/farm setting close to town. This has it’s pros and cons. One con being enough of a draw for people to come out and another being the cost. This may mean I have to work a little long in my day job to boost our savings rate before making the leap, but I want to do this right. 
 I will keep you in mind when the time comes. 

planning to move a distillery later is a very large expense that needs to be understood up front. You are literally redoing all infrastructure expenses (process piping, steam piping, plumbing, etc.). You're paying to move all essential equipment a second time. Re set the equipment. Recertify it depending on your state. Ugh...... Thats a hard commitment!

1 hour ago, SlickFloss said: