New Nocino maker in search of help with proofing and obscuration

Hi all:

New to the forum although I registered a year ago. I am a small maple producer in northeast Ohio, with a ample source of eastern black walnuts on my farm and in the surrounding community. I was introduced to Nocino by the caterer of my son's wedding held at my farm in 2020. Seemed to be a divine match to produce a farm-based nocino finished with maple syrup instead of refined sugar simple syrup.

I found a recipe, obtained my Basic Permit and formula approved by TTB and my Ohio A3A liquor permit. I bought three 10-Gallon stainless milk cans and harvested green black walnuts in July of 2022. For some silly economic i thought it made sense to macerate the walnuts with grain alcohol (190 proof) instead of vodka and dilute the grain alcohol in half with the condensate from the evaporator.  For every bottle of grain alcohol i added one bottle of the condensate. I believed I would end up at ~47.5% ABV and then by adding maple syrup to finish it, I would end up at about 40% ABV.

My recipe (per liter) called for 1 lemon (peel without pith)l 23 walnuts; 1 clove; 1 allspice berry; 1 vanilla pod and 1 cinnamon stick. I bought a pel-a-matic to automatic peeler to peel all the lemons.  

All was moving along well until about this time last year November 2022. I bought an alcohol hygrometer to measure the ABV before adding the maple syrup.  Each batch i measured several times and observed an ABV range of between 20 - 24% It would appear I over shot my mark for dilution.  I tried playing around with 50 ml sample and adding everclear to boost the ABV and then maple syrup to get a finished product, but ended up down the rabbit hole of proofing and obscuration.  I removed the lemon peel from all of the batches as it seemed much too strong.  My mom died last December and its been sitting every since. With the walnuts and all the other ingredients.