Intro and Advice Seeking

First, the introduction - I'm the Head Distiller/Operations Manager at Conecuh Ridge Distillery in Troy, AL. Our brand is Clyde May's whiskey; it's been sourced and co-packed up to this point and this new facility will begin in-house production. I've been distilling since Sep 2018, and was the Senior Distiller at Nelson's Green Brier Distillery in Nashville, TN - I'm not new to production. However, I am new to the entrepreneurial side of starting a distillery and this is my first official "management" position. 

Now, the solicitation - I'm a big believer in surrounding myself with people that are more knowledgeable and experienced than I am, and that's where I'm hoping you all come in.

Is there something you wished you had known earlier? If you could start over again, what would you do differently? 

Thanks.

• 5 weeks later...

Good luck on your new position.  I have worked with many start ups and there are many details and pitfalls that come up. I work with the cooling equipment sizing and general layout for distilleries, so if you have questions that pop up, give me a shout and I can give you advice to that part of your distilling.  Mike G.

• 4 weeks later...

Hi Tyler and congrats on the management position! Let me know if you have questions regarding your in-house new bottling line. Our specialty is Small-Scale bottling (which can mean different things to different people) and we've helped LOTS of folks within ADI.

We also have great partners who do the more automated bottling lines.

Please reach out with any questions.

Thanks Tyler!

-Steve

Congrats on your new role! That is awesome.

Goodness....things I wish I knew earlier...is there a character limit on these posts?? haha.

Making whiskey is the fun and romantic part about the business. Selling it is the hard part. It is a hell of a lot easier to scale a distillery than it is distillery sales. 

Understand your weaknesses and hire people that are better than you.