Milling Dust Collection w/ Pneumatic Vacuum

I used an industrial vacuum cleaner to remove dust  from the  outlet that would have otherwise drifted into the surrounds

It had some type of filter shaker that operated when the filters started to block

10 hours ago, FijiSpirits said:

I used to own a wood shop. We picked up one of the 2hp dust extractors for cheap at harbor freight. Works pretty good and dumps the dust into a removable plastic bag via cyclonic action. 

Might work well for milling operations if kept clean and moisture free. 

What about the need for explosion proofing? 

What are you trying to comply with?  ATEX for the distillery area or reducing explosion hazard due to dust?

the vacuum itself is the hazard reduction for dust explosions.  

As for ATEX in distillery it would seem to be easier to remove grain processing from the distillery area thus eliminating ATEX compliance on motors and electrical.   I’m not an expert on ATEX compliance. Fiji has no rules for this so we are left to common sense when implementing safety measures. 

23 hours ago, FijiSpirits said:

What are you trying to comply with?  ATEX for the distillery area or reducing explosion hazard due to dust?

the vacuum itself is the hazard reduction for dust explosions.  

As for ATEX in distillery it would seem to be easier to remove grain processing from the distillery area thus eliminating ATEX compliance on motors and electrical.   I’m not an expert on ATEX compliance. Fiji has no rules for this so we are left to common sense when implementing safety measures. 

We're not trying to comply with anything but, as you put it, common sense.  Trying to remove grain dust for overall cleanliness and reduce/remove any potential explosion hazards created by our milling process.