Terms for buy-out and contract renewal

Max Action

We're currently talking to a big distributor and they want a contract with no expiration or renewal date, with our only option of getting out by having to pay a buy-out of 36 months of gross profits.

With the state of the industry, they obviously have the advantage in negotiating, and insist they won't budge on the issue and everyone else is agreeing to these same terms. Is that really the case, is anyone else here signing up for a lifetime commitment with a 3 year buy-out? Does anyone else have an opinion on the matter?

Relatively new to the forums and to this business. However, I am a licensed attorney in Pennsylvania and New Jersey. I would never allow one of my many business clients to sign an agreement like that. And I certainly wouldn't do it either.

Just my $0.02. Good luck!

That's the way it works in New Mexico .. We have whats called a "franchise" state ... Which means that you get to pick your wholesaler but once you do they basically own your brands indefinitely !!! The state actually provides the contract language so really there is no written contract ... And the states franchise agreement favors the wholesaler ... Classic good old boy government, but we have no other choice on the retail end here ....

For a franchise state that might not be so bad then. Some states you can leave the state for a couple/few years to get out of your agreement which seems more reasonable than agreeing to give them 3 years gross.

It's not a franchise state, and not beer distributor. It's one of the top 20 spirits distributors in the country. We turned down an offer a couple years ago from a big competitor (who only wanted to carry one of our products) and their contract called for just a 6 month buy-out.